A Childhood Celebration

I went to the barbershop to get a haircut. A nice evening, after a long holiday celebrating 61 years of Indonesia Independence. While getting my hair done, my hairdresser told me about the celebration of Indonesia independence in his village.

The day started with formal ceremony. Then there are carnivals as long as 3 km around the village. It consists of any traditional vehicle, bicycle, motorcycle, horses, and tricycle, anything that can move. People old and young who did not participate standing beside the road, cheering the carnival.

In the afternoon, there is another celebration in the residence. People are doing traditional competition, for the prize and fun. I lost the English translation here, but if you speak Bahasa or know someone who does, ask him the translation for Tarik Tambang, Balap Karung, Panjat Pinang, Lomba Makan Kerupuk, etc. Young, old, kids, everyone participate on the event. The prize might be not so much, but the fun is awesome.

It’s been ages since I participate those celebrations. Me, my brother, and some of our childhood friends, organizing for such celebration. We work until late, attaching small flags to the pole. We went from home to home; ask for donation for the event. We make plan, buy stuff, and on the D-day, we run the show. I still remember that I run the song with my ex. At the end of the day we are tired, but happy. We close the day with a picture; I think the last picture we took before we went on our way.

Happy 61st independence anniversary Indonesia, and to my old friend, gosh…. how much I miss you guys and girls…….

1 comment
  1. tarik tambang = tug of war or tug-o-war?

    I thought balap karung was rug race, but then again, I don’t see the logic behind the translation as a karung is not even remotely close to a rug.

Leave a Reply

