An Eventful Business Trip

Well… turns out to be that a Master Degree does not necessarily help to climb the corporate ladder. Just recently, I’m officially the office messenger for one day. I was asked to deliver a package of proposal to Balikpapan. What can I say, a day trip to Balikpapan turns to be an eventful trip.

The trip started with ATM hunting. Turns out to be that most ATM is not 24 hour. With not enough cash in hand to even pay the cab, I was forced, and fortunately found one 24 hour ATM on the way to the airport. And just turns out at Starbucks Airport that my credit card is blocked, which added to my necessity for cash. The hotel in Singapore was late to release my bank guarantee, which is causing an over limit in my credit card.

The flight was nice, except that I manage to spill some water on my shirt. Not a big deal. Arrived at Balikpapan, I catch a cab to submission place, only to find out that they are having lunch break for the next 2 hours. I’m telling you, walking on foot with 2kg of proposal was not nice.

Some minor incident are still happening, such as I ended up in a cafe which can’t serve coffee, due to their coffee machine was broken. I finally arrived back to the airport, ready for my return flight. The flight is delayed, and the old man sitting next to me won’t stop whining that, I almost ask him to shut up! It was 9pm, one hour from scheduled flight that we are called for boarding.

Between hungry and sleep deprived, I fell asleep, almost skip my long awaited dinner (No, I’m not being cheap for not having dinner at the airport, but I’m not hungry at the moment, or too sleepy to walk :D). Luck seems has return when the flight attendant aware that I haven’t got any food, and offer me some. Not a special food, but enough for energy to get me home safely.

The whole day was closed with another walk across the terminal for (Again) ATM machine. Yes, I’m in short of cash again to pay a taxi home……

Leave a Reply

