Stay Young, Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish

“Stay hungry, stay foolish”. The words written at the back cover of the whole earth catalog made an impression on me from Steve Jobs’ commencement speech at Stanford in 2005. It reminds me to keep hungry to try new thing, to be foolish enough to make mistake and learn from it.

Giving it a further thought brings me back to the time during college and early career. As a college student, I must admit that I don’t really thought about the future. Having fun, and skipping class was what I did together with friends. It was only luck that brings me an opportunity to become lab assistant. I was thinking “why not? I can do this”. It is through this channel that brought my first job, from which I grow my career today.

During my early career, the thought of having my own income allow me to try new things that I always want to do. I took scuba diving course, went diving as far as my income allows. From fellow scuba diver that I was introduced to the biggest food and travel community in Jakarta. This allows me to try another thing, to go to the most secret dining place in Jakarta, and expose me to the world of independent travelling. And fate introduce me to a woman, which now become my wife.

My college time and early career has a similarity: it was done with a young mind. It is pure, not yet contaminated by office politic nor makind ends meet. It is hungry for experience, and foolish enough not to afraid making mistake, and learn from it.

I wish myself these thing in 2012: stay young, stay hungry, stay foolish. Happy new year 2012

1 comment

Leave a Reply

