Ocean is My Oasis

In response to today’s daily prompt Oasis

When someone mention the word “Oasis” to me, the first thing that come to me is ocean. The word Oasis is generally attached to an area with water and lush vegetation in the middle of dessert. Oasis was, and still provide water and relieve to the weary soul that has been passing through. And so does ocean to me. Whenever my soul feel tired or weak, getting to the beach, or even just inhaling the smell of ocean wind will usually recharge my soul.

Waiting for Surf

There are one occasion in 2004, when I was traveling to Bangkok fur business trip. I was so tired, weary, and uncomfortable from the trip, for the reason that I don’t know why. The symptom was only relieved when I smell the ocean from the boat that is cruising along Chao Phraya river.

Another oasis that is less potent, but still able to provide significant relieve to my weary soul, is not actually a place, but an activity. Running has been my escape when I need to catch my breath, whenever I feel tired. It is much easier to do than going to a beach.

Of course, the most perfect oasis to catch my breath will be running on the beach, barefoot.

Edit on 9 Jan: Starbucks have also become a new Oasis to me (Thanks vinuhwin for the reminder). Each time I need to catch my breath, a simple chat with Starbucks barrista (sometime as simple as: how is your commute today?), and people watching will provide the necessary relieve.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.